View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:24 am

Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Elva Courier 400/9/L 

Post Elva Courier 400/9/L
I purchased the Elva Courier Mk. 2 (serial number 400/9/L) from my neighbor in (I believe) 1967. He had purchased the car from the original owner, a US serviceman who had been based in Germany when he bought the car in 1962 in Bremen. My neighbor purchased the car for his wife, who immediately hated the car and its lack of roll-up windows, door handles, functional heater, etc. At the time my neighbor decided to sell I was a penniless grad student at Virginia Polytechnic Institute with a wife and two children to support. I loved the way the car looked and a drive convinced me that I had to have it. I announced to my wife that “I’m going to the bank, and if they’re dumb enough to lend me the money, I’m dumb enough to buy the car.” They were and I did.